Ah, but F.I.R.S.T. (Sick Edition)

So, I have returned to the computer, after a week of ER visits, doctor’s visits, and being too doped up to get out of bed, I am back. Not that I am 100% yet, but I don’t think I was 100% when my mom and dad picked me up from the store, unwrapped the packaging and slapped a couple of AA’s in me.

But enough about me, this blog is about how science and tech changes our everyday lives, and I can not think of a better example then F.I.R.S.T. (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology), this is an organization that tries to teach our little offspring that science and technology is something fun, and something important to learn. The best part is that they do this using robots…. and what isn’t improved with robots? That’s right, nothing!

This group also starts as early a kindergarten, so you can have the little ones taking a part toasters at an early age, and there are programs for ages all the way up to the end of high school.

It is funny, and I don’t think that I was the only one with this experience, but when I was in school science and technology was not encouraged. Oh sure, we had classes in such things, but most of the electives were jokes, and after-school activities rarely made it a month before they were normally canned for lack of participation (I rarely participated in these, they were always very restrictive.) Some say it has to do with funding, and I am sure funding is a big problem, but I think it is just that we as a culture still don’t put a lot of stock into science. We are more than willing to turn to the things that science and technology have given us when we want something done, but most of us want to keep this pars of our lives at arm’s length. I would love to hear some thoughts on why that is, because I have no idea.

Anyway, those of you that live near Saint Louis, MO, F.I.R.S.T is having its Annual Robotics Championship and it is free to the public, so check out the kids that are building the future rulers of the world! I have left some links at the end of the post to let you find out the when and where of the Championships, if you are interested check it out now, because I am barely giving you any notice (originally this post was going out last week).

——-

Well, this is you weekly update, views are way down, but considering I have not posted anything the fact that we have some views is great!

If I have not already mentioned, I am currently trying to have posts on Wednesday and Fridays, I might post on other days but those are the days that I aim to post. Also, until I have licked whatever is going on with me the EULA series is suspended.

If you have any idea’s leave a post or e-mail me at intricate.idiot.blog@gmail.com

Where it is at:

http://www.explorestlouis.com/edwardJonesDome/events.asp

More info:

http://www.usfirst.org/Default.aspx

2 thoughts on “Ah, but F.I.R.S.T. (Sick Edition)

  1. LoL now that u mention it, i havent rly put much thought towards the older integration of tech in school. I always think of the old cliché of people interested in tech being ridiculed as a geeks or nerds. However it’s also a bit blured nowadays. Most of us copy off others work when it comes to “knowing tech.” And how the select small group nerds who custom firmware devices and launch exploits on the net are lumped in with those they do the work for.

Leave a Reply

